Report on the decision of the IChO International Jury, 2021 March

Temporary modifications in the Regulations of the International Chemistry Olympiad (IChO)

Because of the pandemic a conventional IChO cannot be held in 2021.

For the benefit and motivation of the students preparing for the event, it is proposed that the International Jury of the IChO accepts the following modifications of the IChO Regulations for the duration of the 2021 Olympiad only.

The changes, as all regulation changes required a qualified majority of two thirds of the participating countries. The vote was carried out remotely.

The proposed modifications:

§ 2 Organization and invitation

Observers of newly invited countries can observe the remote olympiad and participate in a videoconference with the Steering Committee to fulfill one year of their observation period

§ 3 Delegations

Each head mentor nominates one or more invigilators responsible for the appropriate running of the remote exam.

The invigilator will:

- Receive the final translated tasks from the organizers DIRECTLY.
- Print the exam.
- Personally supervise the students while they take the exam, as well as video record the exam proceedings and share the recording with the organizers. The invigilator is responsible for doing this in accordance with any local laws about privacy and data protection.
- Collect the student scripts, scan them and submit the scans to the organizers.
- Accept any other obligations as required by the International Jury.

The invigilator will NOT:

- Receive any advanced information about the content of the exam.
- Interfere with the participants' work during the exam.
- Be involved with the extraordinary Olympiad in any other capacity (e.g. translation, arbitration)

§ 6 International Jury

Meetings of the International Jury can be carried out remotely with the use of appropriate electronic means to discuss the tasks, their marking, and the procedures of the IChO.

§ 11 Organization of the IChO Competition

The remotely organized IChO competition consists only of one theoretical exam. This is reflected in the official name of the olympiad.

Jury decision

Country representatives expressed their opinion on the temporary modifications. The motion was carried with a wide margin.

The results were:

A) 83 Yes : 0 No : 1 without vote

Individual votes

			-
Country	Vote submitted by		
Argentina	Soledad	Antonel	Yes
Armenia	Andranik	Davinyan	Yes
Australia	Trent	Wallis	Yes
Austria	Georg	Schellander	Yes
Azerbaijan	lgrar	Nazarov	Yes
Bangladesh	Md	Khan	Yes
Belarus	Viktar	Khvalyuk	Yes
Belgium	Hans	Vanhoe	Yes
Brazil	Sergio	Melo	Yes
Bulgaria	Donka	Tasheva	Yes
Canada	Jennifer	Pitt	Yes
China	Suping	Zheng	Yes
Chinese Taipei	I-Jy	Chang	Yes
Costa Rica	Jose Roberto	Vega Baudrit	Yes
Croatia	Branka	Zorc	Yes
Cuba	Orestes Eduardo	Landrove Ramírez	Yes
Cyprus	Stella	Ioannou - Loucaides	Yes
Czech Republic	Petr	Holzhauser	Yes
Denmark	Kurt Bjønager	Nielsen	Yes
El Salvador	Rene	Arevalo	Yes
Estonia	Ida	Rahu	Yes
Finland	Kjell	Knapas	Yes
France	Aurélien	Moncomble	Yes
Georgia	Elizbar	Elizbarashvili	Yes
Germany	Felicitas	Niekiel	Yes
Greece	Nikolas	Psaroudakis	Yes
Hungary	Gabor	Magyarfalvi	Yes
		1	

Iceland	Katrin Lilja	Sigurdardottir	Yes
India	Ankush	Gupta	Yes
Indonesia	Deana	Wahyuningrum	Yes
Iran	Seifollah	Jalili	Yes
Ireland	Brian	Murphy	Yes
Israel	Izana	Nigel	Yes
Italy	Agostino	Casapullo	Yes
Japan	Katsuya	Maeyama	Yes
Kazakhstan	Yernur	Tolep	Yes
Korea	Bongjin	Moon	Yes
Kyrgyzstan	Bakyt	Borkoev	Yes
Latvia	Kaspars	Veldre	Yes
Lithuania	Rimantas	Raudonis	Yes
Luxembourg	Sam	Hoffmann	Yes
Malaysia	Noor	Rahman	Yes
Mexico	Carlos	Castro	Yes
Moldova	Stanislav	Ciubotaru	Yes
Mongolia	Nyamgerel	Choijilsuren	Yes
Montenegro	Tatijana	Carapic	Yes
Netherlands	Emiel	De kleijn	Yes
New Zealand	Jan	Giffney	Yes
Nigeria	Chinenye	Nna Orji	Yes
North Macedonia	Miha	Bukleski	Yes
Norway	Bjørn	Dalhus	Yes
Oman	Maya	Al 'Azri	Yes
Pakistan	Khalid	Khan	Yes
Peru	Patricia	Gonzales	Yes
Philippines	Jose	Andaya	Yes
Poland	Marek	Orlik	Yes
Portugal	Diana	Pinto	Yes
Romania	Daniela	Bogdan	Yes
Russian Federation	Vadim	Eremin	Yes
Saudi Arabia	Reem	AlMohammed	Yes
Serbia	Dušan	Sladić	Yes
Singapore	You	Kailun	Yes
Slovakia	Martin	Putala	Yes
Slovenia	Andrej	Godec	Yes
South Africa	Robin	Naidoo	Yes

Spain	Oscar	Rodríguez Montoro	Yes
Sri Lanka	Chinthaka	Ratnaweera	Yes
Sweden	Ulf	Jäglid	Yes
Switzerland	Patrik	Willi	Yes
Syria	Hala	Al Dakkak	Yes
Tajikistan	Khushang	Sobirov	Yes
Thailand	Charoensak	Mueangkaew	Yes
Trinidad and Tobago	Nigel	Jalsa	Yes
Turkey	Arif	Dastan	Yes
Turkmenistan	Nazar	Mammedov	Yes
Ukraine	Kostiantyn	Gavrylenko	Yes
United Arabic Emirates	Abdallah	Marhoune	Yes
United Kingdom	Ben	Pilgrim	Yes
United States of America	Lily	Raines	Yes
Uruguay	Carlos	Kremer	Yes
Uzbekistan	Firdavs	Kutliev	Yes
Venezuela	Amalia	Torrealba	Yes
Vietnam	На	Nguyen	Yes

Qatar has not submitted a vote, but that might be due to email disfunction.